WATCH: Infractions force PGA Tour to review process

Jordan Spieth and Henrik Stenson were given two-shot penalties by the PGA Tour after misplacing their tee shots from different parts of the course during the second round of the US Masters in Augusta.

Spieth had a tee shot at the par-4 13th hole near a bunker, from where he hit his tee shot to the right corner of the green. A rules official noticed, and asked Spieth if he wanted to move the ball forward. Spieth then did so and was informed he had hit an illegal shot.

Spieth told the official he initially noticed that his ball was heading in the wrong direction but he could not move it because the rules official was on the ground.

The official conferred with the USGA, then contacted the PGA Tour and they agreed Spieth should be penalized.

Spieth fired a 2-under-par 70 to finish at four-under for the tournament. He was penalized, and according to the Golf Channel, had to take a drop about 15 yards away. He wound up making bogey on the hole to be 6-under for the tournament.

Henrik Stenson also misplied his tee shot. He had a drive about 10 yards behind where the ball he played landed. He was notified of the violation and told to take the ball back to the tee in the fairway.

Stenson had a birdie on the hole and ended up in the same place on the leaderboard as Spieth with a 5-under round for the day.

Here is a copy of the fine for Rules violation for the different situations: http://bit.ly/2sqH6rI https://t.co/ePKCJj5wZ4 — PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) April 24, 2017

The penalty both players received was a two-shot penalty, in both cases.

Leave a Comment